Click the Portal menu and select Users & Permissions under Administration. This page is viewable if you are an account administrator. From here, you can create and manage user accounts, assign user permissions, reset user passwords, and view user statuses.

Tip: Refer to your profile page to view your current administrator.

In addition to this topic, Bazaarvoice recommends you read about the security guidelines that you must follow to keep your Bazaarvoice solutions and user accounts safe.

View user account details

  1. Use the Filters to narrow the user accounts table to only the accounts you’re interested in viewing. You can filter by:
    • First name
    • Last name
    • Email
    • Site
  2. Click a user name to edit the user’s account details.
    Note: You can only manage accounts for users who have access to the sites for which you are an account administrator. If a name is not clickable, the user has access to at least one site for which you are not an account administrator. To edit this user's account, contact an account administrator that has access to all the sites assigned to the user. If the account administrator that has access to all the sites assigned to the user still cannot edit that user's account details, contact Bazaarvoice support.

Edit user account details

  1. Click a user name to view the user’s account details.
  2. Edit the Profile fields to update the user’s personal information, such as name, email address, or preferred language.
  3. Edit the Permissions fields to update the Bazaarvoice solutions, sites, environments, and roles the user can access.

Modify permissions

The following table explains the permissions fields that apply to user accounts.

Tip: You can only manage permissions that you have access to. Click the "View non-editable..." link beneath a permissions field to view which permissions the user has that you don't.
Permission name Description
Solutions Bazaarvoice offerings the user can access. You can only assign users to solutions you can access.
Sites Bazaarvoice sites the user can access. You can only assign users to sites that you can access. Click Show disabled sites to view sites that have been disabled in the configuration hub.
Environments Specifies whether the user has access to the staging environment, production environment, or both.
Roles The Portal role of the user. You can only assign roles that you, yourself, have. To see which roles you have, view your user account details.

User roles

The following table explains the Portal roles you can assign users.

Role Description
User The user has access to the solutions and sites specified but cannot make changes to other user accounts.
Privacy manager The user can manage privacy requests from your site visitors to see the data we collect about them or to remove their data from our systems.
Account administrator The user can make changes to other user accounts within the solutions and sites the administrator can access.

Create a new user account

  1. Click Create new user.
  2. Specify the user account details.
Note: If you try to create a user account for someone who already has a Bazaarvoice account, you will get an error message that says the email address is already in use. To view or edit that account, use Filters to locate the user and click the user name to edit the user's account details.

Disable or delete a user account

Disable a user account to prevent a user from logging in to their account.

  1. Click a user name to view the user’s account details.
  2. Click Disable user.

After you disable a user account, you can re-enable it at any time by clicking Enable user. The user’s account details and password remain the same.

To delete a user account, you must first disable it. Then click Delete user.

Reset a user’s password

Note: When you reset a user's password, the user receives a password reset email. If the user remembers their original password after you send the password reset email, the original password will no longer work. They must reset their password using the link in the email.
  1. Click a user name to view the user’s account details.
  2. Click Reset password.

View a user’s status

Status labels display below user names and in the user account details page. These statuses give you useful information about the user at a glance. The following table describes the possible user statuses.

Status Description
Active The user has access to their account. If the user manually requests to reset their password via the Forgotten password page, their status remains Active. If an administrator resets a user's password, their status changes to Password Reset.
Provisioned The user account has been created but the user has not set their password as instructed in the activation email.
Locked The user has been locked out of their account after five failed login attempts and has received an email explaining how to regain access.
Recovery An administrator has reset the user's password. The user must click the link in the password reset email to set a new password and regain access to their account.
Disabled An administrator has suspended access to a user's account.

Security guidelines

Learn about the security guidelines that you must follow to keep your Bazaarvoice solutions and user accounts safe.